BJP secures decisive victory in Arunachal Pradesh Assembly Elections

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has returned to power in Arunachal Pradesh, securing 46 out of 60 seats in the state assembly. The polling took place on April 19, and the results highlight a significant win for the ruling party.Despite the assembly having 60 seats, elections were held in only 50 constituencies. Ten BJP candidates, including Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein, were elected unopposed.

Arunachal Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer Pawan Kumar Sain announced that the counting of votes would begin at 6 am on Sunday across 40 counting centers in 25 district headquarters. The process would start with the counting of postal ballots, followed by electronic voting machines (EVMs) at around 6:30 am. The entire counting process is expected to conclude by noon.

Sain also assured that adequate security arrangements were in place at all counting centers to ensure a smooth process. He emphasized that, in accordance with Election Commission guidelines, no victory processions would be allowed following the announcement of results. The counting for Arunachal Pradesh’s two Lok Sabha seats is scheduled for June 4, but the assembly poll counting was preponed due to the term of the present assembly ending on June 2.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *