Fresh faces in Arunachal politics as Governor dissolves Legislative Assembly

In Arunachal Pradesh Governor Lieutenant General (Retired) K.T. Parnaik signed an order on Sunday dissolving the state’s legislative assembly with immediate effect. This paves the way for the constitution of the eighth State Legislative Assembly following the recent election results, officials confirmed. Acting under Article 174 (2) (b) of the Constitution of India, the Governor accepted the Cabinet’s advice to dissolve the Seventh State Assembly. Chief Minister Pema Khandu tendered his resignation to the Governor at Raj Bhavan, which Parnaik accepted, along with the resignation of Khandu’s council of ministers. The Governor requested that Khandu and his ministers continue in their roles until the new government is sworn in. The Governor commended the Chief Minister for his effective administration during his tenure. “Your efforts in managing the state’s affairs have been commendable,” Parnaik stated in the communiqué.

The dissolution follows the declaration of election results, marking a wave of new legislators entering the assembly. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured 11 seats, the National People’s Party (NPP) won 4, the People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) each gained 2 seats, and one independent candidate emerged victorious. Among the BJP’s newcomers is Tsetan Chombey Kee, who won the Kalaktang seat in West Kameng district. Kee, known for his media publication ownership, is a significant addition. Ealling Tallang, the BJP district president of East Kameng, secured the Seppa East seat. Advocate Topin Ete won the Aalo West seat, while Nyabi Jini Dirchi, Zila Parishad chairperson, claimed the Basar constituency. Retired bureaucrat Tojir Kadu triumphed in Nari-Koyu, and Hamjong Tangha secured the Changlang South seat. Other notable winners include Puinnyo Apum (Dambuk), Tai Nikio (Nyapin), and Rotom Tebin (Raga).

Two BJP candidates were elected unopposed: businessman Ratu Techi (Sagalee) succeeded six-time MLA and former Chief Minister Nabam Tuki, and retired engineer Hage Appa (Ziro-Hapoli) replaced Agriculture and Horticulture Minister Tage Taki. The NPP introduced fresh faces such as Pesi Jilen (Liromoba), who resigned from his bureaucratic post before the elections, Oni Panayang (Mariyang-Geku), Tapi Darang (Pasighat East), and Namgay Tsering (Tawang). From the PPA, Nabam Vivek (Doimukh) and Oken Tayeng (Mebo) secured victories. The NCP’s successful candidates include entrepreneurs Toko Tatung (Yachuli) and Likha Soni (Lekang).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *